This article is objectively based on relevant scientific literature, written by experienced medical writers, and fact-checked by a team of degreed medical experts.
Our team of registered dietitian nutritionists and licensed medical professionals seek to remain objective and unbiased while preserving the integrity of any scientific debate.
The articles contain evidence-based references from approved scientific sites. The numbers* in parentheses (*1,2,3) will take you to clickable links to our reputable sources.
Is Mochi Vegan? Find Out The Answer From Experts’ Opinions In 2024
Mochi is a traditional Japanese food that has quickly gained popularity in recent years, as have many Asian foods. This trend is mostly due to social media and its mainstream exposure. While it was previously hard to find except in Japanese stores and restaurants, it has now become common. It is now offered in a variety of different establishments worldwide, tempting you to be cautious by asking, is mochi vegan?
Is mochi only of rice and water ingredients, or might it be disqualified as vegan due to animal ingredients? Can someone following a vegan diet enjoy mochi without this fear of possible dairy ingredients? If you consider yourself vegan, you should determine whether or not the mochi you eat can be considered vegan food.
Is Mochi Vegan Friendly?
Yes, mochi is vegan-friendly as its dough is made from only glutinous rice and water. Still, depending on the filling and embellishments, it may end up being non-vegan. The most common non-vegan mochi is mochi ice cream which often contains dairy.
Can Vegans Eat Mochi?
It’s a simple question when the mochi is simple. To the point, however, is any particular mochi the Japanese food that’s traditionally made from glutinous rice, also known as sticky rice? This type of rice is very common in Japanese cuisine and distinct from the usual long-grain and medium-grain rice varieties. It’s also rich in vitamins and minerals, making it nutritious.
It’s important to note that despite its name, glutinous rice does not contain gluten. Gluten is a protein found in wheat and other grains that can cause health problems to sensitive people. Instead, the term glutinous refers to its sticky and chewy texture when cooked. In fact, glutenous is a word with a different word origin entirely, whose spelling indicates it is a completely different substance.
Mochi is usually made by soaking, steaming, and then pounding the glutinous rice. This transforms it into a cohesively fashioned and elastic mass. This gives it its chewy texture and allows it to be fashioned into various shapes and sizes. As such, it can be used in both sweet and savory dishes.
The most common way to fashion your mochi dish is to fill it with a sweet or savory paste. However, what you choose to put in the filling will differentiate a vegan mochi from a non-vegan one. So, both technically and for all practical purposes, mochi dough alone is vegan, but the filling doesn’t have to be. Your dedication to the vegan lifestyle will determine whether this is acceptable or not.
When Is Mochi Not Vegan?
Mochi is not vegan when the ingredients in the filling aren’t vegan-friendly, i.e., vegan. The dedicated vegan deals in absolutes. That is, something is either vegan or it is not. The term vegan-friendly should be considered the same thing as vegan. It is not in any way a softening of one’s vegan policy.
Many mochi foods contain straightforward ingredients like red bean paste, mango jam, or even matcha paste. Still, the ones containing ice cream often aren’t dairy-free, making them non-vegan.
For ice cream in your mochi to be considered vegan, it usually contains plant-based milk varieties such as coconut or oat. Still, it’s important to read the ingredient list to ensure there is no dairy, even in powder form.
Similarly, in savory dishes, mochi can sometimes be filled with ground meat or shrimp, making it not vegan.
What Is Mochi?
This Japanese fluffy delicacy can be a wonderful appetizer, a snack, or used in a variety of different desserts. In fact, it can even be a filling itself, as many Japanese buns are often filled with a whole mochi inside. Mochi is especially associated with certain Japanese holidays and festivals, such as New Year’s celebrations. More than just a variety of ethnic or regional food, it is special in Japanese cuisine and culture.
Now that mochi has become popular in recent years, it can often be found in cafes and restaurants. It can even be offered on vegan meal delivery menus. If you’re looking for a gluten-free dessert, it is a great addition to your meal if you want to avoid gluten.
There can be many different mochi flavors, depending on what you choose to fill them with. Here are some of the most popular mochi flavors:
This is sweetened mochi dough that’s filled with everything from fruit and jams to red bean paste and even chocolate. Some of the most popular flavors include mango, strawberry, lemon, and green powders, such as green tea and matcha.
Mochi Ice Cream
Mochi ice cream is a very common mochi type often found in supermarkets. It is filled with ice cream or sorbets. To be vegan, however, these ice cream fillings must be dairy-free — made with plant-based milk.
Unsweetened mochi dough can be filled with savory pastes, like miso, sesame, or tofu. A non-vegan option is to use ground meat. It can also be filled with fruits and veggies and then dipped in soy sauce or wrapped in seaweed.
Zenzai Or Oshiruko
This is a sweet red bean soup with mochi pieces added for extra texture and flavor. The chewy flavor adds a unique experience that makes a delicious vegan mochi recipe.
Mochi is quite simple. It contains only two, sometimes three, ingredients. The dough is made with glutinous rice flour, water, and possibly sugar when used for desserts. One must be careful of sugar because some processed sugars are decolorized using animal products, such as bone char. Besides the rice and water, the remaining ingredients come from the filling. Whatever you choose to put inside your mochi or your mochi ice cream will be on your ingredient list. But if the ingredients are non-vegan, so is your mochi.
Mochi dough is, otherwise, gluten-free and vegan, making it a great option for those who are following a plant-based diet or who are sensitive to gluten. It’s important always to scrutinize the label when you’re buying mochi, as it can often contain ingredients you might be sensitive to or allergic to.
Important to note that mochi dough can be very sticky and often pose a choking hazard. It’s advised to cut it into smaller pieces to avoid this from happening, especially for children.
Mochi is generally vegan-friendly, but many varieties on the market contain animal-based ingredients such as dairy and ground meat. Although not typically offered as a vegan meal replacement, a vegan bar can be a dessert or a snack. As always, read the ingredient list to ensure any filling is vegan-friendly.
Frequently Asked Questions
Mochi dough does not contain dairy, but many mochi ice cream options exist. To be vegan, you must ensure the filling is with plant-based milk such as coconut, oat, or rice milk.
Traditional mochi does not contain gelatin as the glutinous rice it’s made from has a sticky texture.
Mochi does not have eggs, and it’s only made from rice and water.
+ 3 sources
Health Canal avoids using tertiary references. We have strict sourcing guidelines and rely on peer-reviewed studies, academic researches from medical associations and institutions. To ensure the accuracy of articles in Health Canal, you can read more about the editorial process here
- Widiastuti Setyaningsih, Nikmatul Hidayah, Irfan Estiono Saputro and Barroso, C.G. (2015). Study of Glutinous and Non-Glutinous Rice (Oryza Sativa) Varieties on Their Antioxidant Compounds. [online] ResearchGate. Available at: https://www.researchgate.net/publication/271480271_Study_of_Glutinous_and_Non-Glutinous_Rice_Oryza_Sativa_Varieties_on_Their_Antioxidant_Compounds
- Botagoz Kulushtayeva, Maksim Rebezov2, Aidyn Igenbayev, Yulia Kichko, Nina Burakovskaya, Vladimir Kulakov, Mars Khayrullin. (2019). Gluten-Free Diet: Positive and Negative Effect on Human Health. [online] DOI: 10.5958/0976-5506.2019.01690.5
- Vu, T., LeBlanc, J. and Chung Chi Chou (2020). Clarification of sugarcane juice by ultrafiltration membrane: Toward the direct production of refined cane sugar. Journal of Food Engineering, [online] 264, pp.109682–109682. doi:https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jfoodeng.2019.07.029.